Design 
  Community 
  Architecture 
  Discussion 

Message - Re: ArchitectureWeek - Thanks, But No Thanks...

Responses | Architecture Forum | Architecture Students | Architecture Scrapbook | ArchitectureWeek    

Posted by  Clinton Gallagher on February 10, 2003 at 09:31:18:

In Reply to:  ArchitectureWeek - 2003.0205 posted by Lawrence Scarpa on February 06, 2003 at 20:38:24:

The Wisconsin Society of Architects sponsored an Architectural Awareness Week for which I volunteered as I was at that time a degreed architect and an associate member.

The theme was Planning and Computer Aided Design. In those days of the early 1990s I was a recognized expert. The initiative included publishing a booklet that was underwritten by advertising raised by the authors such as myself whose articles and drawings would be published in the booklet.

I was approached by Curt Zimmerman from Zimmerman Design Group, the largest firm in the Milwaukee, Wisconsin region. He attempted to brwo beat me demanding I drop the subject of my contribution "Information Technology: Planning for the Future Today" and contribute something else so he could present himself in the context of an expert, which he was not.

I said no as I had already drafted the contribution and had already secured financial underwriters from the community: other A/E/C firms in the forefront of appying the principles of IT to A/E/C endeavors.

When the booklet was published I discovered my contribution had been vandalized. My position as the expert in this context was usurped, the title and theme of my article was changed and given to Zimmerman Design who had also plagiarized CAD drawings from Herman Miller systems furniture catalogs and included them in their contribution claiming them as their own while falsely presenting themselves as experts in Computer Aided Design and the application of IT in the planning process.