Design 
  Community 
  Architecture 
  Discussion 

Message - Re: Career change into architecture

Responses | Architecture Forum | Architecture Students | Architecture Scrapbook | ArchitectureWeek    

Posted by  Preston Pesek on July 29, 2003 at 11:40:07:

In Reply to:  Career change into architecture posted by A Marino on July 17, 2003 at 09:23:18:

I've just been reading the responses to your inquiry, and its truly amazing how off track so many responses have become, anywhere from man vs woman in the context of God's design for the human race, to a little anti-semitism and the WTC. Ridiculous, but all too entertaining.

I am in a similar situation as yours, and have done some research over the past few months. I graduated with liberal arts degree two years ago, and am planning on getting a first professional degree in architecture, scheduled to begin in the fall of 2004. I have yet to apply, but am taking an architectural history course, and am working nights to free up my days so that I'll be able to work for an architecture firm part-time. This is all still in the works.

There are the old and burnt out architects who never seemed to make their dreams come true or make what they felt like was enough money, and they'll always be embittered and discouraging (about more than just architecture). I have found this kind of person in the fields of law (which I also researched heavily), medicine, marriage, parenthood, school, life in general. These people suck, and they are everywhere. Listen to them, but realize that their failure shouldn't apply to your dreams. Learn from them what not to do, and don't be scared to ask them what not to do. They might know.