Design 
  Community 
  Architecture 
  Discussion 

Message - Re: Career change into architecture - thanks for all your reponses

Responses | Architecture Forum | Architecture Students | Architecture Scrapbook | ArchitectureWeek    

Posted by  D Cho on July 30, 2003 at 12:00:57:

In Reply to:  Re: Career change into architecture - thanks for all your reponses posted by A Marino on July 21, 2003 at 09:32:59:

From the many responses your posting attracted, one can see Career in Architecture is a loaded subject. Everyone who works in this field seem to have something to say. So, here's my 10 cents...

I graduated from a highly competitive 5-year BArch program 11 years ago. The program I attended was very grueling and necessitated many all-nighters on a regular basis. In our 4th and 5th years, we shared studio space with the 3-year M-Arch students (which is the program you will likely enroll in). The intensity of their program was not much different than ours. The attrition rate was quite high in the B-Arch program. Less than 50% of our freshman class graduated in 5 years. I think the key to success in architecture school (which is quite different than in the real-world), is unwavering determination. Some of the students who dropped out were quite artistic and talented in design. But they got either burned out, or failed out on technology courses like structure. On the flip side, I would never have betted on some of the students who ended up graduating in 5-years. These students never took any art or architecture classes before entering the program. Some of them were totally inept in making models or presentation drawings. But, they succeeded because they worked hard, did not give up, and improved each year. That's the message I try to impart on the high school students I interviewed on behalf of the admission office of my alma mater.