Design 
  Community 
  Architecture 
  Discussion 

Message - Re: hospitals

Responses | Architecture Forum | Architecture Students | Architecture Scrapbook | ArchitectureWeek    

Posted by  nadine on March 12, 2004 at 18:34:36:

In Reply to:  Re: hospitals posted by Richard Haut on March 12, 2004 at 00:51:45:

As I keep telling you Richard, I am a designer not a politician. If you blame governments for everything you can or cannot do, which is not very positive, you will never achieve anything. Fight them by all means, but blame I find, is a fairly negative action which only reaps further negative action as you admit.

In any case, the UK government is only part of the problem, health unions and the politics involved create a difficult structure from which to progress.
Also, the medical training schools themselves need to change their current attitude of not being in the business of 'touchy feely' caring. Health is not just about clinical intervention. Medical training should see people as sensitive humans not biological case studies which which to further conduct experiment.

Getting caught up in the politics or blaming the politics is purely unproductive. It's always better to work around them.

We once offered schools in the UK a children's free imagination and design competition. The best out of all categories would win free art materials for their class.
This was especially close to my heart because I think children do not get their imagination stretched at all these days. We were in a position to make a contribution so we did.
What happened?

Headteachers refused because we weren't teachers and of course we all know the politics centering around this particular issue. Teachers complain about overwork and low pay but when help is offered it is refused so they can continue to argue. Poor kids, what happened to them being central to any education programme?