getting 3d objects into my drawing

Discuss DesignWorkshop design-oriented 3D CAD and associated CAD and architectural rendering and design media topics. Moderated by the Artifice support team.

getting 3d objects into my drawing

Postby keithfdean » Mon Sep 13, 2004 3:31 pm

Hi
I'm new to Design Workshop
I've just created my first building, but can't work out how to get 3d objects from the library into my drawing
Help anyone?
Many thanks
Keith
keithfdean

Postby Jeff Morgan » Tue Sep 14, 2004 3:16 pm

Hey Keith,

Open up the item from the library; selected it; copy; open up the DW file that you want to place it in; paste; move it to where you want it to be.

Hope that helps.

See ya,

Jeff
Jeff Morgan

I can't paste the object

Postby keithfdean » Tue Sep 14, 2004 4:23 pm

Hi Jeff, thanks for that
I have the object in the clipboard, but in Design Workshop the Paste option is greyed out. I can't paste it !! The only option available in the Edit menu is show clipboard, and the object I want is in there, but I can't paste it.
How can this be? My browser is running in OS X on my flatscreen iMac, I have DW running in Classic.
Any ideas?
Keith
keithfdean

Postby Mike Wheeler » Tue Sep 14, 2004 6:26 pm

Where are you copying the object from?

You need to open a library object model in DesignWorkshop, use the Arrow Tool to select the object you want, copy, and then paste it into your own model.

Also you need to copy it from the same instance of the DesignWorkshop program and paste it while that instance of DesignWorkshop is still running. This is much more of an issue on Windows where you can easily open the same program several times simultaneously. I think for this to happen on a Mac you would need more than one copy of DesignWorkshop installed and then you would need to open each separately.

Please let us know if you continue to have difficulty.

Best wishes,

Mike Wheeler
support@artifice.com
Mike Wheeler

Postby keithfdean » Wed Sep 15, 2004 7:39 am

Hi Mike